The President's Council of Advisors: Mission

The Cal Poly President's Council of Advisors was established in 1980 to enhance the relationship between the University and its constituent communities, including business, industry, agriculture, the professions and the arts. The President's Council of Advisors is a group of individuals who represent leaders of professions, business, industry and communities. The Council convenes regularly to provide advice, advocacy, access, leverage and resources for the University. The Council is aware that its stakeholders include not only the University, its Board of Trustees, the President, Faculty, Staff and Students, but the citizens of California as represented by their state government, business, industry and other institutions of the state, nation and other nations. The Council is constituted to aid the University as it works to achieve its mission and goals.

Council of Advisor Members


  • Mr. Richard S. Allen
    Chief Executive Officer
    The Allen Group
  • Mr. William J. Allison
    Chief Executive Officer
    Southcoast Engineering
  • Ms. Beth F. Anderson
    Vice President Supply Chain Rate Capability
    The Boeing Company
  • Mr. Douglas H. Austin, FAIA, MAIBC, LEED AP
    Chairman and Chief Executive Officer
    AVRP Studios
  • Mr. Richard A. Bergquist
    Locus Technologies
  • Mr. Russell J. Bik
    Private Investor
  • Mr. Gary L. Bloom
    President & CEO
    MarkLogic Corporation
  • Mr. Paul R. Bonderson, Jr.
    Lone Oak Ventures, LLC
  • Mr. William L. Chillingworth
    Chief Executive Officer 
    Dash Brands, Ltd.
  • Mr. Fred Collins
    Tribal Administrator
    Northern Chumash Tribal Council
  • Ms. Mary R. Crebassa
    Vice President, Content Services
    DTS, Inc.
  • Ing. Guillermo Fernández
    President and Chief Executive Officer
    FUMEC--The United States-Mexico Foundation for Science
  • Mr. Todd W. Gebhart
    McAfee Inc.
  • Dr. Susan Hackwood
    Executive Director
    California Council on Science and Technology
  • Mr. Edward D. Halpin
    Senior Vice President and Chief Nuclear Officer, Nuclear Generation
    Pacific Gas and Electric Company
  • Mr. Charles L. Harrington
    Chairman and Chief Executive Officer
    Parsons Corporation
  • Dr. Richard F. Hartung
    Retired Executive Vice President
    Lockheed Information Management Services Company
  • Mr. Blake Irving
    Chief Executive Officer


  • Mr. Arthur Gen Kawamura
    Founding Member
    Orange County Produce, LLC
  • Mr. King R. Lee III
    Chief Executive Officer
    Good Technology
  • Mr. Jerry Lohr
    J. Lohr Vineyards & Wines
  • Mr. James W. Lokey
    Chief Executive Officer/Chairman of the Board
    Mission Community Bancorp
  • Mr. Paul V. McEnroe
    Rancho La Purisima
  • Mr. Jon Monett
    Quality of Life Plus Program
  • Mr. Jaime Oaxaca
    The Oaxaca Group-Grupo Oaxaca
  • Ms. Michela O'Connor Abrams
    Dwell Media
  • Mr. Peter Oppenheimer
    Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer
    Apple, Inc.
  • Ms. Jean-Mari Peltier
    National Grape and Wine Initiative
  • Mr. Robert W. Reding
    Robert W. Reding & Associates LLC
  • James H. Roberts
    President and CEO
    Granite Construction Inc.
  • Mr. Robin L. Rossi
    Rossi Enterprises
  • Mr. James P. Sargen
    Chief Executive Officer
    Trian Management
  • Mr. Ronald Smith
    Sector Vice President, Mission Assurance
    Northrop Grumman Information Systems
  • Mr. George H. Soares
    Managing Partner
    Kahn, Soares & Conway, LLP
  • Mr. Mitchell Suarez
    Senior Technical Project Manager
    Warner Bros. Advanced Digital Services
  • Mr. William H. Swanson
    Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer
    Raytheon Company
  • Mr. Ernesto M. Vasquez, A.I.A. & NCARB
    Partner & CEO
    SVA Architects, Inc.


Related Content